Newbie here... Need advice/opinions

Hi everyone!

I must say, the knowledge here from the members is outstanding! I've been researching so long, my head is spinning, but I think I'm getting a grasp of it all.

Can anyone please help me with advice on this proposed system? Thanks in advance!

This system is meant as an emergency back-up system and to power up an entertainment system on a daily basis. I’m trying to keep costs down so good quality components for less is a plus.
I live in SoCal and will get at least 6 hours of sun per day.

Requirements
System to power the following:
• DirecTv DVR: 60W@1A (24/7) (1440 WH)

Future Addition:
• LCD TV: 130W (6 hrs. day operational – 780 WH)
63W Power Save mode
.1W Sleep mode
Calculated power requirements: 2220 WH/day+10%=2500 WH/day
System setup
Array
(4) Kyocera's PV rated 51W@18.5V
(6) Arco Solar M668 rated 50W@18.5V
Total Wattage:500W
To be Purchased?
• Batteries: (4) Trojan T105 connected Series Parallel (370AH)
• MPPT Charge Controller: Solar Boost 3024DiL, Morningstar TS-MPPT-45 or Rogue MPT-3024
• Monitor: TriMetric 2025-RV?
• Inverter/Charger: Xantrex TR512 (pricey)

Questions
• Do the components I've selected have the correct power specifications for my application?
• Are the Trojan T105 batteries a good solution? What are other recommendations?
• Can I use the 2025-RV monitor? For the same price as a regular 2025, I get an enclosure
• Do I need a pure -sine wave inverter/charger for a DVR and TV? I also want to use me Honda EU3000 to charge the batteries.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Newbie here... Need advice/opinions

Welcome!

You've certainly started out right - by calculating your loads. That may just be a first! :p

Do you have any future load plans other than the TV? If not, then you're looking at a maximum of <200 Watts at any given time. For that you could use:
    This Samlex: http://store.solar-electric.com/sa300wa12vos.html