labor cost?

Options
First off, hello everyone!

I'm new to solar, but have read quite a bit in the last week or so. I'm from DC and DC offers $3.0 per watt (first 3.0 kw-$2 after)..now I've gotten a couple of quotes and what I can't figure out is why installation cost so much...not the panels, inverter, racks..but the labor. I've priced out several systems from online suppliers and after that labor cost around 9-10K? is that right.

One of the better quotes was a 3.15 kw system (210w Schuco panels) and a sunnyboy 4000 inverter. But that is roughly 6.4 cents per watt (if my math is correct)-but I've also gotten quotes near 8 cents per watts. I can buy a grid tie systems around the same or larger-major name panels- for roughly $11,000. Why does the actual labor cost 9K?

Am I able to buy online and find a reputable contractor/electrician to install in for less? Has anyone done this? is this something to be avoided?

Thanks so much, and I look forward to reading and asking and helping where I can. Awesome forum.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,447 admin
    Options
    Re: labor cost?

I guess people in lower cost regions of the US are getting GT quotes in the $6 per watt range (turn-key--fully installed and operational, including permits, installations, etc.) for a straight forward install.

$6.40 to $8 per Watt seems like a reasonable spread... 5 years ago, I paid around $9+ per watt for my 3kW GT system south of San Francisco CA before the $2.50 per watt state rebate and 10% federal...

GT System prices have been coming down while raw material and labor costs have been going up...

Short of doing it yourself--Which some people have done--Not sure what you can do other than get another quote.

Note that many "local" rebates/credits require the use of licensed solar installers/contractors of some sort--So self installs may reduce some local rebates (Federal tax credit, will cover self install costs).