24V panel to 2-6Volt batteries in RV

Options
Hello, let me start off with – Help, I’m new to all this.

I am planning to put a solar panel on the roof of my travel trailer. I have been trying it research this on my own as best I can, but now needs some help bringing all the information together.

From my last couple of trips, I learned that I deplete my batteries by about 50 Amps a day (and unintentionally deep cycled them a couple times). My current setup is 2 x 6v golf cart batteries rated at 232Ah@20 hrs. each. The batteries are connected to a small inverter (600W) at the front of the RV, and to the converter in the center of the RV. The inverter is about 5 ft. of 2 gauge wire from the batteries. The converter is about 20 ft. of 6 gauge wire from the batteries.

I am looking at purchasing the SunSaver MPPT controller and the Sharp NE-170U1F panel.

The way I was thinking to set this up best is to have a 24 volt panel on the roof, with an approx. 30' run of cable to the front of the trailer where the inverter is. The panel is rated for 34.8Vpm @ 4.9a and 43.2Voc.

I have two options for placement of the solar converter, beside the converter, 20 ft. from the batteries, or beside the inverter, 5 ft. from the batteries. With either location, the wires from the panel needs to come down from the roof right were the converter is.

Assuming perfect conditions, the panel puts out 34.8V at 4.9a. I think the controller will convert this to about 11.4 amps using formula - ((34.8V * 4.9A) / 14.4V) * 0.96eff = 11.4. Would this charge the batteries in about 5 hours?

Is this panel ok to mount on top of a travel trailer?

Should I be looking at any other brands of panels (looking for the most cost effective panel)?

Is this panel compatible with this controller?

Are my calculations correct?

Should I be using a 12v panel instead?

Wouldn’t a 24V panel connected to a MPPT controller always be more efficient than a 12 volt panel?