wind generator setup for nubie

I am trying to build my first wind generator to be connected to the grid to make the most power I can for my home here in Florida. We get a lot of wind. I may get solar panels later. Any way I have 7 Raptor generation 2 wind turbine blades. Six ft total dia. I was also thinking about buying a permanent magnet DC generator that I have seen alot on ebay. 600 watt,150 volts,14 amps,200 rpm,continuous duty,sealed,low cut in rpm. I also don't know what electronics to use to make it safe and basically plug and play. I am new to this but have done some reading and searching for parts. I am also trying to do this fairly cheep for now. Any help and ideas would be very helpful...Thanks kirk

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: wind generator setup for nubie

First off, don't spend any more money until you put up an anemometer and get some "real world" readings of your sustained winds. Too often wind that seems "strong" to your face is too week to work a wind turbine. Alternately, gusty wind sites don't work well either as they tend to damage turbines.

Beyond that, turbines have to feed a charge controller of some type. One that can handle diversion loads some how so that there's a place for the power to go when the batteries are charged.

Really good site for do-it-yourself wind power: http://www.otherpower.com/

On this forum Green Power Maniac has had good success with the turbines he built (impressive and decorative!).
  • Solar Guppy
    Solar Guppy Solar Expert Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭

I be right to the point, Florida is one of the lowest wind speeds of any state in the US.

http://www.windpoweringamerica.gov/images/windmaps/fl_80m.jpg

Second, unless you have a UL1741 approved system, you can't connect to the grid to sell power, regardless of the energy source.
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin