Help with small project,Please

dlone
dlone Registered Users Posts: 15
I have 10/100 watt 12 volt panels. My invertor is also 12 volts. My controller is an 80 amp Outback.

My question is what is or would be the best wiring configuration to use? Also if I bump up the voltage to 24 v how do you wire the panels together? Will I have to have 5 strings or is there another way? I'm new to this guys,so be easy on me.
Thanks n advance

Comments

• AntronX
    AntronX Solar Expert Posts: 462 ✭✭
    Re: Help with small project,Please

Provide more details. Are panels identical? What is their Vmp, Voc? Length of wire between array and FM-80. Wire gauge. Battery type and amount. Your location. Panel orientation angles. Inverter brand, model. Amount of load to be powered.
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭

I believe Outback actually has a string configuration tool on their site. Not certain.

There are some fine details that would make a difference, such as actual Vmp & Voc of the panels as well as length of wire run from the array to the charge controller and not least your ambient temperatures (panels put out more when cold, less when hot).

The simple answer, if it were me doing it, would be five strings of 2 panels each: the two in series giving "24 Volts". There are other potential configurations, but the further from "12 Volts" the array is, the more down converting the controller does and the efficiency drops a bit.

You could also do it "the other way 'round" and put five in series. This would probably be a Voc of less than 120 Volts, well under the FM80's max, but it depends on the specific panel and temperature conditions. Then you'd have two parallel sets of 5.

With multiple strings in parallel, be sure to fuse each string.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,433 admin

Welcome to the Forum!