Starting solar-based back-up system.

Options
System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
Dear Forum Members,

I am totally new at this and know nothing. I would like a solar panel to power a battery array to run a couple of lights, a fan, and a radio during power blackouts in the Dallas area where I live. I am saving to build an off-grid cabin, but that's a long way in the future.

Huge open ended questions: What would you start with, and what references that are not too technical would you recommend?

Many Thanks,

Texan in the dark.

Comments

• dwh
    dwh Solar Expert Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Starting solar-based back-up system.
    Dear Forum Members,

I am totally new at this and know nothing. I would like a solar panel to power a battery array to run a couple of lights, a fan, and a radio during power blackouts in the Dallas area where I live. I am saving to build an off-grid cabin, but that's a long way in the future.

Huge open ended questions: What would you start with, and what references that are not too technical would you recommend?

Many Thanks,

Texan in the dark.

Been a while since I lived in Big D (Duncanville :D ).

How long are the blackouts? They can't last very long. You would probably be better off with a decent little generator like a Honda EU1000i or EU2000i. Or a couple of T-105 type batteries and an inverter, and then use a decent charger plugged into the wall to keep them topped off for when you need them.

Can't really see a reason to spend money on Solar for what you described.
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin
    Options

Congratulations on your escape from Big D!

Thanks for the help. This may sound odd, but what's a T-105 type battery, and what type of inverter would you recommend ?

Thanks,

TID
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options

Your best plan--Start with conservation. Pick a radio that does not use much power or even has solar/rechargable battery backup.