Solar/Utility powered evap cooler

Options
System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
Hi all, this is my first post!

So I'm familiar with commercial utility power systems, but am a complete noob regarding solar systems. I have a general idea of the components, but am lost on specifics.

I'm trying to design a building with a solar/utility powered evap cooler integrated into the HVAC system. Is there a specific piece of equipment (a fancy inverter?) that can actively switch between the solar and incoming utility power to keep the evap running? I want the cooler to run on solar as long as there is sufficient power to do so, but switch to utility as needed.

Thanks folks!

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,448 admin
    Options
    Re: Solar/Utility powered evap cooler

The best solution (most efficient, least costly, least maintenance) are a set of Solar Panels plus a Grid Tied Inverter...

Basically, the GT Inverter takes the energy from the solar panels and puts power into your home's wiring in parallel with the utility power. If your solar is producing more power than you use, then it actually turns your meter backwards. There are no switches or batteries involved and no maintenance (other than perhaps cleaning panels once in a while). From your home's point of view, there is no difference if you are using solar or utility power (other than your final energy bill).

Currently, there is a 30% federal tax credit and perhaps some local rebates for you (check www.dsireusa.org for more information)

This usually requires a professional installer, building permits, and utility approval.

However, it is not cheap and not all electric utilities support Net Metered Grid Tied power systems.

In the end, conservation is usually the first and best place to invest your hard earned monies.

Insulation, double pane window, high SEER air conditioning, energy star appliances and lighting, etc...