Need advice of what solar system to use

Options
System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
I'm totally brand new to solar power. I'm doing all the solar assembly myself to keep costs down. I just set up a 1978 2-bedroom manufactured home on my 40 acre lot in Arizona. There is no power in my property so this is all off-grid. I need assistance on what solar system to use. I will be using this house on weekends only. The solar system will be used to power the following per day:

6 lightbulbs, 2 computers & 2 monitors, 1 TV, 1 VCR, 1 water booster pump (DC).

How many 100 W panels do I need? How many and what type of batteries do I need? What type of inverter do I need and what wattage? Please advise on what other equipment do I need to make this system work.

The old manufactured home have 110 AC wiring. How do I connect an inverter to the main service panel?

I also have a 3500W generator for backup power. How do I tie this to the solar power system. Please help. I'm so confused. Thanks.

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Need advice of what solar system to use

First piece of advice,,, don't buy anything (yet)! The biggest mistake people make is "Ready, fire, aim". The result is folks spend too much money on systems that are over price and under perform.

The first thing you must do is get an accurate handle on your loads. Use a Kill-a-watt meter to log you loads. Log or guess as best you can at the loads and their duration. What you will be left with is a watt/hour/day number. (injecting here to take conservation efforts to reduce loads as much as possible as it is cheaper to save a watt than produce it. niel) Once you get that you can begin to work backwards to find out how much Pv you need, how many batteries of what type, how big an inverter etc.