shurflo 9300 life expectancy, duty cycle

System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
just bought a shurflo 9300

scoured the net for info, found pitifully little and conflicting stats pertaining to gph @ various voltages/depths

called shurflo got near zilch for info

my pump is set 190'. used reccomended pipe and wiring.

powered by a pair of deep cycle batts that NEVER drop below 26v.

batts charged by pair of 100 watt panels w/ charge controller.

pump is producing 84 gph which keeps my tanks full running 3 hrs per day.

i am very satisfied with the output.

my questions are:

1. what is the duty cycle of this pump ?
2. what is the life expectancy of this pump ?
3. what are the most common problems with this pump?

neither shurflo or the dealer i bought it from seems to be able to give me a straight answer to the above questions

out of the box, the plastic wire connector had both allen set screws stripped out.
being a machinist, i made a permanent repair, but for $700+ dollars i shouldn't have had to.

do any of you have any experience with the shurflo 9300?

thankyou for any info you may provide

don

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: shurflo 9300 life expectancy, duty cycle

One website says to replace the diaphragms every 2-4 years...

The above link also has depth vs solar panel vs amperage which seems to be more detail than is available from Surflo directly.

Seems like a nice little pump (not sure it is still in production--website is legacy.shurflo.com).

It looks like the classic trade off between long service life vs very high pumping efficiency.

The next class up would probably be the Grundfos Solar Submersible Well Pumps at 3x the price...

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭

A couple of anecdotes about the Shurflo 9300.