How long do PV modules last?

Many people wonder how long PV modules last. Most opinions are based on speculation. In my case, I have some experience: my oldest PV module is now 30 years old. I recently ran some electrical tests on the old PV module. To read what I found out, click the link:
http://www.greenbuildingadvisor.com/blogs/dept/musings/testing-thirty-year-old-photovoltaic-module

Comments

• CaptTurbo
    CaptTurbo Solar Expert Posts: 66 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: How long do PV modules last?

That was fun reading and great first post! Thanks.
  • Dave Angelini
    Dave Angelini Solar Expert Posts: 6,730 ✭✭✭✭✭✭

I know of some 53 year old modules in a backyard in southern california!
    "we go where power lines don't" Sierra Nevada mountain area
       htps://offgridsolar1.com/
    E-mail offgridsolar@sti.net

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭

i have a solarex module that is 27 years old this year. i don't even remember its ratings, but i think it was a 9w pv. i'll have to dig that up one day and test it to see how it's doing.
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin

I always wondered about that too, especially with all the new thin film panels on the market lord knows how long they'll last. @_@
  • niel

i have an old thin film too that was sandwiched between 2 panes of glass. that one isn't weatherable as the ends are vulnerable to water infiltration and i bought that one in the late 80s. i remember it was putting out roughly 1.25a at 12v when i got a hold of it.
  • Jerry
    Jerry Registered Users Posts: 19
    I know of some 53 year old modules in a backyard in southern california!

53 years old, OMG, are they still work?

• niel

they may fold back on some of their power, but they will last in excess of 20yrs easily.
  • Kamala
    Kamala Solar Expert Posts: 452 ✭✭
    Jerry wrote: »
    53 years old, OMG, are they still work?