Custom Mounting and Inspector issues

Greetings All,

I am an electrical contractor doing PV installs. Our local inspecting authority is now requiring all panel mounts to be UL Listed. I'm skeptical that this a legitimate requirement.

I'm doing an install on a low slope or essetially flat roof with obstacles that make using factory mounts impractical. I've had legs fabricated (the longest being about 8 inches in length) out of 1/4" common aluminum to mount each panel individually and still maintain proper elevation for efficient operation. Bolted together with stainless hardware there shouldn't be any issuess with this.

There have been several installs by homeowners in my area where they used aluminum angle and fabricated everything on site that have been inspected and approved because the homeowner when asked did in fact lie to the inspector as to the UL Listed nature of their installation.

Homeowners can get away with this since they'll not be working with inspectors on a continuous basis in the future. I'm consulting with an electrical engineer who also happens to be a code expert but I'd like to hear some other opinions and insights.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Custom Mounting and Inspector issues

See if you can get a copy of the UL requirements for the mountings. You should be able to identify the underlying requirements (strength, materials, coatings/rust treatment, etc.).

Structurally, many building departments require a professional engineer (civil/structural) sign-off--perhaps you can have them "attest" to meeting the requirements.

Building inspectors can require or bypass such requirements.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • Windsun
    Windsun Solar Expert Posts: 1,164 ✭✭

I never heard of such a thing, and a look at all the panel mfg literature shows no mention of any such listing for any of the 5 brands that we carry.