Question about PV electrical inspection in northern AZ

Options
Hi, this may be a dumb question or the wrong place to ask, but I'm new at this and can't find the answer online anywhere else...

I would like to put in a PV system into a cabin that I'm building in Navajo county. Am I allowed to do the work (design and installation) myself, or do I have to hire someone to do this? I don't have a license, but I do have multiple EE degrees and 20 years of experience including some power system design (converters and HV particle accelerator) and have been playing with solar since I was 6 (thank you radio shack).

I could probably pay $1k and take the test...that's plan B.

Thanks for any information.

Comments

• solar_dave
    solar_dave Solar Expert Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Question about PV electrical inspection in northern AZ
    azrc wrote: »
    Hi, this may be a dumb question or the wrong place to ask, but I'm new at this and can't find the answer online anywhere else...

I would like to put in a PV system into a cabin that I'm building in Navajo county. Am I allowed to do the work (design and installation) myself, or do I have to hire someone to do this? I don't have a license, but I do have multiple EE degrees and 20 years of experience including some power system design (converters and HV particle accelerator) and have been playing with solar since I was 6 (thank you radio shack).

I could probably pay $1k and take the test...that's plan B.

Thanks for any information.

How about doing the work yourself and having a licensed electrician approve it for you for a nominal fee? Are you in the APS service zone? They will rebate for some off grid installations but require a licensed electrician and permits.
  • dwh
    dwh Solar Expert Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭
    Options

In California the homeowner can do all the work themselves and pull their own permits for single-family residential - for multi-family or commercial someone with a license needs to be involved.