Share the pain

rbtrrer
rbtrrer Registered Users Posts: 22
Hi folks,

As im new to computers,(as well as RE) beware it might take awhile for me to respond to questions not only due to excruciating slow typing technic but also stumbling around where's the right buttonz to push.

I am once again using a Honda EU 2000i genset to power my few (at this point) electrical needs.

Only recentlly did i figure out from reading forums such as this, i could cut the fuel by ~ 1/4-1/5 by charging battery.....run low consumption loads from inverter

That cost ~$240 for battery, charger,inverter initialy. I think the genset was
~$1,100 in 2004.

BTW I realise that this is a solar forum, at this time, this is a more practical/finacially feasable way for me to go.(not to mention way simpler
for me to comprend and more within budget.

Just as alot you, expanion/optimizing plans are on the board and bonifide battery moniter on the way.

My imidiate question is. To get the best "bang for the buck" can I charge multible batterys with same output of generator.

Example-2 parralle 12v batts take half as long to charge as 1 12v batt same load.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,433 admin
    Re: Share the pain

This was my reply via PM to Pat--As a start:
    BB. wrote:
    rbtrrer wrote:
    My main curiosity is at this point is to determining if i can charge multiple batteries with the same output of the genset.

There are several ways of connecting batteries together... For example in a camping van, you may have two 12 volt batteries. 1 for the motor and vehicle power; the second for powering the RV section. And there is a big solenoid (automatic electric switch) that connects the two batteries in parallel so the vehicle engine can recharge both batteries... And if the RV battery goes dead--the second engine battery is still fine to get the engine started.