Inverters

System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
Hi, I'm new here, but have a question. And just on a side note I have been an electrician for about 25 years so I "get" most of the electrical stuff, but one thing that has been racking my brain.

Why use an inverter and not just 10 12 volt batteries wired together? 10X12volt = 120 volts right? or for 240 volt loads 20 batteries?

Batteries should be fairly easy to come by, but the other question is can I use auto batteries or marine lead acid batteries? most of them have a pretty high amp hour rating.

Just some questions that I would love to have some answers to, preferably with some sort of explanation so I can wrap this hard head around it.

THANKS!

BTW, I'm probably going to do a solar/wind combination...

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Inverters

Welcome to the forum.

If you're going to do a solar/wind system you'd better learn about a lot of stuff.
    First up would be the difference between Alternating Current (as used in household wiring) and Direct Current (as sourced from batteries) and how many things that will run on one won't run on the other.

Some inverters take a 'low' DC battery Voltage ( 12, 24, or 48 Volts) and convert it into standard household 120 Volts AC (or 240 Volts). Some inverters are Grid Tie type; they take power directly from the solar panels and 'back feed' the household wiring. Some are 'hybrid' and can sell back to the grid while having battery power for emergency back-up.

You do not want to use automotive or Marine/RV batteries for RE; they aren't up to the continual deep cycling that off-grid systems function with. There are specific deep cycle batteries for this purpose.

Please take some time to read through the FAQ section: http://forum.solar-electric.com/forumdisplay.php?f=14
    There's tons of information and resources in there and you can probably find lots of "preliminary" answers which will lead you to ask more specific questions. :D