Beginners training

DDuffeeInc
DDuffeeInc Registered Users Posts: 12
Can anyone recommend a beginners training course to take? I notice there is an online course that is 6 weeks. I may take a look at it, but I really enjoy the actual hands on training and feel of a classroom environment.

I am currently an electrician so I do have the knowledge of voltage drop and can do the electrical work and calculations. I will start with my own building as my first system. That way I can work out the bugs of it and learn at my expense.

Most likely the majority of our installs would be grid tied.

Where would a person such as myself begin to start?

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Beginners training

Where are you out of? Carlsbad, NM?

There are a couple threads here that are chock full of discussions and pictures of doing a complete Grid Tied system... For example, here is a commercial install:

Illustration of 8 KW (DC) GT Solar PV System Install for Residence in Urban Area

And here is one of the DIY installs:

3.36kW Residential DIY GT system Install

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

By the way, do you have a friend who is a roofer? Turns out that one of the roofers here was doing so many roof repairs after solar arrays were installed--that he decided to get into the solar PV installation business too.ric

I would hazard to guess that, from your point of view, learning how to install rails/flashing/etc. on the various types of roofs would be a great help. The basic electrical stuff for Grid Tied is pretty much following code.