Battery voltage discrepancy

Options
Eric L
Eric L Solar Expert Posts: 262 ✭✭
Hi Folks,

I'm a newbie to solar with a small system that powers a small 28w DC pump. When I measure my battery voltage with a multi-meter, I always get a lower value than I do from my charge controller. The controller is a Morningstar Sunsaver MPPT 15, and using MS View it always shows the battery voltage to be about .20 v higher than the multi-meter. This is the case even at night, with the PV panels off and no load on the batteries. So if the multi-meter shows 12.53 volts, the charge controller says 12.73.

Hydrometer readings are closer to the Sunsaver reading, although I should add that my hydrometer is one of those cheap floating plastic disc types.

I suppose the multi-meter might simply be poorly calibrated, but is there any other explanation for this discrepancy? I'm taking the readings with everything still connected to the batteries, in case that makes a difference.

The rest of the system is 2 Kyocera KD135 panels in series and two Trojan T-105 batteries in series.

Thanks for any suggestions, and I've learned a lot from this forum.

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Battery voltage discrepancy

Put new batteries in a DVM, and try it again. Then borrow another DVM and compare the two. I would suspect the calibration of the DVM, and possibly the MS controller. It is also quite possible that you have a voltage drop between the controller and the battery. Look carefully at the cables and the connections. Can you test the output of the controller at the controller as well as at the battery?

Good luck and welcome to the forum.
  • NEOH
    NEOH Solar Expert Posts: 74 ✭✭
    Options

Discrepancy? Maybe, maybe not ...

Let's say the battery voltage is actually 12.63 Volts. Then the Charge Contoller is within +1% and the DVM is within -1%. The 12.53v DVM and 12.73v CC readings may be totally acceptable given your equipment.