Needing advice

Options
the_rog
the_rog Registered Users Posts: 2
First post, so please don't throw rotten tomatoes at me.

I have 135W worth of panels at my house charging a pair of 115AH marine batteries. The controller and panels came from horrible freight. The panels seem to be ok, but the controller is probably questionable at best. I've ordered a TriStar TS-45 controller to accommodate the additional wattage. I'm not trying to power the entire house. I'm not that naive. All I've done so far is to power a couple lights, alarm clocks, and most importantly my ham radio equipment. Powering the radio equipment was the only real goal, actually. I wanted to be able to operate in spite of a power grid failure. Everything seemed to be ok this summer. But with the sun's path being lower in the sky over the last couple of weeks, I'm not getting enough voltage to fully charge the batteries. I have the batteries periodically on an AC charger to top them off. I'm a marginal carpenter and an even worse welder. Is there a relatively simple way to rig up a tilt mechanism so that I can adjust the angle of the panels to get as much sun as possible?

One idea I had was to use C-channel along the top and bottom edges of the panels, and use all-thread to hold it all together to form one big panel. I envisioned the top C-channel being a couple inches longer than necessary on both sides to act as a pivot. Am I reinventing the wheel, or there something simpler I could do?

TIA

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,457 admin
    Options
    Re: Needing advice

TIA,

Which TS 45 controller are you think about--The MPPT or PWM?

Starting backwards--The Marine batteries may or may not give you good service. Next set, you might look at some true deep cycle storage batteries instead.