New to solar technical world, need help(homeowner)

System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
Hello all, I am new to the technical side of solar power and want to do everything myself to save money. I was wondering where I should begin when wanting to learn how to hook up panels to my system myself. I'm not cheap I am just on a fixed income (retirement).

I know a lot about solar energy but I do not know a lot about being an electrician and want a firm grounding (pun intended) in installing all the panels I need.

I was hoping to be pointed to some advanced books on the subject as well as some of the threads here that are about safety and installation. thank you and have a good Sunday! ;)

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Re: New to solar technical world, need help(homeowner)

Solite,

On the techical side, here is some information about the NEC (National Electric Code) side of things:

PV and the 2005 NEC -- Reference Document

Many places are using the newer 2008 NEC--So you need to find out what your location is using.

And, if you want to do it yourself, get a copy of the current NEC for your area... It is not that difficult to read, and there are many helpful tables on conduit, wire size/type, and other requirements. Pretty much mandatory if you are going to install a Grid Tied type system (solar panels + GT Inverter + connected to home wiring). Need full permits and, usually, utility approvals.

Solar specific wiring issues tend to focus on what type insulation for roof-top installation. And many locations require a professional engineer (PE) to sign off on the mechanical structure for panel mounting. As well as needing a licensed electrician to sign off the installation.

Some locations also require a licensed installer if you want to get state and/or local rebates.... A good place for rebates (and solar RE specific laws by state/city):

www.dsireusa.org