My name is Jason and I am new to this sort of thing but have a lot of
applicable knowledge. I have put together a 24v battery bank @ 400
Ah but only have a 12 volt inverter. They are 12v batteries at 100 Ah
each so tapping into half the circuit creates a major problem. I want to
keep it simple.

So my question is should I just invest in a 24v inverter? Or are there
any good DC to DC lossless (stepdown) converters that would work
without all the the diodes and extra cables. My budget for this project
is very limited so I must do my best to keep it simple.

Looking at about 32ft for DC current. Should I just use a 12v bank?

Thanks for reading,

Jason

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Re: I seem to have built myself into a corner. 24v bank/12v inverter

There are converters... But they are not usually very big...

Samlex 24 Volt to 12 Volt DC to DC Converter, 15 Amp
    12/24 Volt DC/DC 20 Amp DC-DC Converter

If you have to send your current very far (32'x2=64' of wire)--12 volts is about the worst voltage to do this with... Unless your power requirements are very low, or you have some very heavy gauge cable to send it across.

Picking a higher DC voltage does make sending power across a distance easier--But, using an inverter and sending the power 32' is probably the best thing to do...

Can you elaborate about what you want to do (how much power, how far, what is the end need--12 vdc/120 vac or what).

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin
    Options

HI Bill,

Thanks for such a quick responce. Looking to reduce my grid consumtion of about
    2000w daily. Yeah the higher gauge DC cables would not be worth the cost. And
    AC over the 32ft means 560lbs of batteries in the attic. Hmmmmm thats not a bad idea,
    although service would be trouble. Thanks for the link, the amperage requirement