Newb RV questions

Options
Billw
Billw Registered Users Posts: 5
So I was doing some bartering and ended up with a Shell 165 PC. Just the panel. I have no other equipment but I do have a 32ft Toy Hauler that the guy said "it will work great". Me being the optimist was hoping he wasn't yanking my chain. But after being in the market to get a solar system to compliment the generator I knew how much panels can cost and realized it was a little too good to pass up.

So I have been doing a little bit of reading here and I think I am ready to ask my questions.

First, will this panel work? Is there a way to test it with a DVM? I am a mechanic by trade and understand enough about electricity that I can figure out most problems.

Second will this panel work on my 12V trailer? I would like it to allow me to use the lights, stereo, ceiling fan etc... and still charge the battery at a minimum.

Third what type of convertor or switch box will best suit my needs. This panel is rated with Peak power of 35V and Peak current of 4.72a

Fourth if I bring the voltage from 35v to 12 will I increase my amperage equally?

Fifth how much power will this panel really put out? I know it is rated at 165watts but is that realistic being mounted flat on top of an RV?

Hope I am clear enough in my intentions here. Like I said, I am usually pretty good at figuring things out but this is my first venture in to solar power so go easy on me.

Thanks
Bill

Comments

• Windsun
    Windsun Solar Expert Posts: 1,164 ✭✭
    Options
    Re: Newb RV questions

That is probably the Shell SQ165, which is about a 32 volt panel. You can use it, but will need an MPPT controller, like this one http://store.solar-electric.com/mosumpsochco.html

On an RV you will get anywhere from roughly 120 to 170 watts in full sun, depending on temperature and sun angle.

To test it just put it in full sun and measure the voltage output, should be around 45 volts open circuit.
  • Billw
    Options