Thin Film vs. Crystalline?;Kaneka 60's?

Options
adam1984
adam1984 Solar Expert Posts: 72 ✭✭✭✭
I am somewhat new to the solar world. A professor got me really involved, and am an electrical engineering student at the moment. Was trying to get an off grid set up and am looking at different panels. I don't have alot of money, so I was hesitant. I found a website for .98c/watt. They are the kanika 60watt thin film panels. So am i wrong to assume that these are junk? I cant imagine at this price they are any good. Also it says they are 48 volts so i dont know if that would be too much for me. does anyone have any experience with these and how do they compare with the crystalline panels. The site i found i dont want to advertise but they are located in miami. If anyone can recommend where to get a cheap system (controller, panels, inverter).. appreciate it.

Comments

• AntronX
    AntronX Solar Expert Posts: 462 ✭✭
    Options
    Re: Thin Film vs. Crystalline?;Kaneka 60's?

The only trouble with them is that they are half as efficient as crystalline stuff. So to get same power output you need twice the space. But it's a steal for that price if you have the space.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options

Check the warranty on the thin film panels... Some have 10 years or less, others have 20 year or so...

The good ones should be OK--Although, if you really need long life panels, there have been problems in the past with amorphous panels and early life failures (but so have some good crystalline panel manufacturers have also had earlier life failures). So--if warranty is important to you--a vendor with good customer service is important.

And, as Antrox says--you need twice the sq. foot/meter of panels for approximately the same power collection as crystalline panels. That also means twice as much mounting hardware and possibly some more copper cables for interconnects.

-Bill