NorthEast-US-Solar Emergency Backup Pwr

Options
Greetings:

I'm a long time resident of S. NH, where weather is 4 seasons, cold winters, power outages when serious ice storms come along. Last winter we were hit in mid-December with an ice storm which knocked us out of power for 7 days. The region suffered a lot of damage, and some were out as much as 14+ days. Having experienced this in past, I was prepared with a back up gas generator, candles, flashlights, gas cooking, Wood stoves and Wood. Furnace uses oil for both heat and hot water (variable and costly), and water is 100 ft well (220 VAC pump). We did fine but the generator consumed a lot of gasoline to keep all going, and required constant attention. Rains came and flooding was a problem, especially when out of the house because sump pumps did not come on. Keeping on top of it all was doable, and we eventually swum out of it. Nonetheless, it made for a very long winter.

This year I decided to give solar a try to provide back up power in emergency situations such as above. I've obtained and roof mounted 4 - 42 W EVP solar panels (Thin film type-open voltage 55-60 vdc in full sun, .96 amp). I'm in the process now of wiring them in parallel using MC4 connectors and ~ 30 foot run to my solar power panel (in progress) in the basement. These panels are wired 14 AWG, so I stayed with that gauge wiring for starters. The solar panel will reside beside the mains house panel breaker box (200 Amp service).

I purchased a Morningstar MPPT 15 Amp charge controller, battery thermometer, PC - RS 232 connector to monitor and track data via laptop, two 12 volt Interstate deep cycle Marine batteries (flooded), a DC surge arrestor for the panels, and have some electrical boxes and starter supplies to begin mounting this weekend.
I'm close to purchasing an inverter, but have a few questions before I spend more $$.