total new, need tips and input

Teapopper
Teapopper Registered Users Posts: 13
Hello All

I am a total beginner and need some guidance.

First thing i did was to buy a kill a watt tool and have checked the appartment on what i use power on.

Im thinking of buying 15 pieces of these Truck batteries and chain em.
http://www.tradekey.com/product_view/id/81521.htm
I can get in a local store for 76 Euro per piece.

Then i need solar panel, how many ?l, inverter ++ ? to meet my needs , need some imput here.
Will this help me get off the grid ?

I live in Norway.

So far me and my gf have the following,
1 PC stationary, 120w, runs 8 daily
1 monitor, 70w 8 hours daily
1 laptop, 70w, runs 8 hours daily
Lights, 300w, runs from 10-12 hours, all is gonna be changed to LED asap !
Ventilation 37w runs nonstop
Electrical heater, 1700w when used so about 1 hour, winter coming so prob more
Refrigerator, 80w
now.
Aquarium 40Watt, runs nonstop.
Water tank, ?

And we have other stuff like vacuum cleaner, stove and washing machine.

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: total new, need tips and input

You did the right thing by buying the Killawatt! Other than that, I would suggest that you spend a lot of time reading everything you can, here and elsewhere about Pv before you buy ANYTHING! IMHO the most common newbie mistake is "ready, fire, aim!" That is buying stuff because it seems like a deal, only to find that it won't work very well with the system you finally end up with. Then you are left with some bad taste in your mouth, and you may well have wasted scarce money.

Welcome to the site. There are some very smart folks here, many who have forgotten more about RE/PV etc than most of us will know. Use their experience so that you don't have to reinvent the wheel at every turn.

Good luck,

Tony
  • Teapopper

Thnx for reply Icarus !

Yep, so mutch to read, great forum !.
    First thing i will do is to change the lights to LED.