Do you know any good books????

Options
Wilis
Wilis Solar Expert Posts: 84 ✭✭✭✭
Hi everyone,

I am looking for a book that goes into the mathematical side of solar design. I want to understand information on panel data sheets etc. I am not a engineer, but do have a 2 year electronic degree. So many books out there it is hard to tell which one to purchase. I can't purchase them all. If someone has read a book worth purchasing please post information. Full sun day today-just love the Son. Thanks Wil

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Do you know any good books????

Start with your local library. You'd be amazed at what you can get from a library through inter-library loan and a co-operative librarian. And you don't have to pay. :D
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,445 admin
    Options

Right now, the "state of the art" for practical home solar panels are mono and poly-crystalline silicon panels (mono-crystalline being slightly more efficient and more expensive). And even the other types (amorphous silicon) have very similar physical operating characteristics.

Since the crystalline silicon cells are currently all pretty much the same physics, they all have pretty much the same behavious.

The big difference is the companies that are making the cells and putting the panels together. Besides the wattage/voltage/current options--it is quality and price that will make your purchase decision.

This is one of the better data sheets that I have seen that puts a lot of information about generic silicon panels on a nice set of IV curves:

data sheet for a crystalline silicon panel

Don't get too wrapped up in the details of your panel's math... Instead, look at your application. Define your power needs, after you have worked hard at conservation--it is almost always worth the money spent to conserve first, than to generate the power later.