Phase alignment of Power Sources

Options
System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
I live in Oakland, CA and I am new to this web site.

I will be putting a Grid Tie system on my house.

- I have been studying John Wiles posts.
- Reading Pertinent sections of the NEC
- Refreshing my memory on Utility AC power distribution (reading a book)
- Looking at some example line drawings and an example 3 wire drawing.

The DC analysis seems straight forward and every thing looks good right up to the point where you backfeed through a breaker into the Utility grid.

So the issue I don't quite get is how Power Phase alignment is handled between the output of the inverter and the Utility Power Phase. Is this an issue? Does the inverter sense the Utility Phase and adjust to it?

This looks like a fun hspice simulation. But I already know what it will look like. You will get 2 Power Signals at 60 hz that are out of phase. The main distribution trunks are 3 Phase systems but the final distribution to residential is single phase.

How does this effect the Utility meter. IE if I am generating 3.5 Kwatts could I be spinning the meter back at a lower wattage becuase my phase is not optimum?

Also is there anyone else that is designing and installing their own system?

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Re: Phase alignment of Power Sources

From what I have seen and know--A single phase GT inverter sync's/slaves to the AC mains and pushes current back at a Power Factor of 1.0... I have a GE Utility Meter from PG&E and it will report back the voltage, current, Watts, and phase angles for my home (120/240 VAC, split phase).