questions on first solar setup

Hello, I'm new to this and have some questions. I'm hoping someone with more experience can help me out. I have the following equipment:

Duracell DPP-600HD Powerpack 600
Sunforce 50044 60-Watt Solar Charging Kit

I realize the battery is only large enough for small appliances but if I can start with this I would like to expand it later. I'm basically trying to connect the solar panels to the powerpack to charge it, but so far I've been unsuccessful at getting it to take a charge. The charge controller keeps saying charging but also the "charged" light is lit up and it hasn't been charging it. Can I wire the solar panels into the DC port on the powerpack to charge it? What is the best way to go about this? Thanks for any help.

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: questions on first solar setup

Couple of things,,

Looking at the web site,, it is a tiny battery, 28 ah,, with a maximum charge current of 1 amp. Your 60 watt panel will put out maybe 3-4 amps under full sun in cool conditions.

How are you connecting this to the solar panel? I can't see how you would wire a panel to this battery pack.

Tony

Icarus,

The batter pack has a DC input that it can be supposedly charged from. I tried wiring the charge controller into a DC plug and plugged it into that. I'm now thinking it may be a faulty unit but not sure. I guess the next step would be to try a volt meter next to see if its getting a charge or if its an issue the charge controller.
  • icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭

Post the instructions for the unit if you can,,, I couldn't find them on line.

T

Tony,

Here is a link to a specification sheet that may be useful. It indicates max charging time from DC is 4 hours...that's probably assuming its plugged into a car's DC outlet.

http://www.duracellpower.com/documents/tech-specs/DS20070710_duracell-pp600.pdf
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin