fridge: propane vs watts

Options
baddawgz
baddawgz Registered Users Posts: 11
I am new to this discussion but not to solar as my ranch has been solar powered for over ten years..this is what I learned from personal experience..propane sucks...its expensive for a fridge..too problematic...dangerous...costs too much...etc, etc. the last time my propane regulator took a dumper it toasted the fridge from overpressure/too many btu's.. I started looking at online ads for rv fridges and solar compatable fridges all in the $1000+ range...after living out of a cooler for 3 summer months I was not a happy camper believe me...a friend called me one day asking if I was still looking for a fridge and advised me he was at home depot and there was one there that used 300 watts of 120 v for $199....! Long story short...I bought it, brought it home and its been keeping my beer (and other things) cold for three years without a freakin' hiccup...its running on a $139 12v harbor freight modified sine and I wouldn't trade it for any gas fridge anywhere in the world..its a magic chef 11 cubic ft. or so apartment size unit that is now just over $200...propane fridge makers ..KMAAGAL (kiss my *** and get a life) ....$200 ..! crap... I spent that much going for ice...

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: fridge: propane vs watts

Here is my take on the Propane/conventional fridge issue, from someone that has used propane fridges since they were kerosene!

The cons of propane:

They are expensive to buy, they can be quirky, they are small by comparison, when the cooling units fail, they are generally not cost effective to repair. They need to be seviced (burners cleaned once a year or so) Propane fuel continues to get expensive. They are slow to cool upon lighting.

The pros of propane: