Need some help with settings after an extended grid outage on Friday

midwesteddie
midwesteddie Registered Users Posts: 7 ✭✭
edited March 2023 in Solar Beginners Corner #1
Hi al,

I'm still learning my way. All of these questions are regarding a system that was installed in a home that we purchased about 4 years ago (and were given no instructions).
I think my signature describes most of my equipment. It's an older system with 38 (connected + 2 additional batteries are not connected to the bank but are numbered as if they were once part of the bank) Ni-Fe batteries (1.2v, 400ah).
At about 3:34 PM on Friday (3/3) the grid went down. At about 5:23 PM the battery bank dropped below the LBCO setting of 40.0V (killing power to loads that were still on). After the appropriate delay, the AGS started up our Generac, but it only ran for maybe a minute or two the first few times and the batteries depleted very very quickly. Eventually, I was running around shutting off circuits that were not essential, in an attempt to lengthen the cycle of "charging" the batteries, but it never really worked as I would have expected. (see image) We actually left for a bit (due to lack of power) and until about 11 p.m. When we returned I tried tweaking some settings in an attempt to get a better charge on the batteries (increased the , but never really felt like I figured it out. Grid power was restored around 1 AM so I wasn't able to experiment anymore.
Again, this did not seem ideal. One of the bigger annoyances was the loss of all power in the gap when the batteries kicked off and the generator charging them back to an acceptable/usable (however temporary) level and this just kept repeating. Ideally, the generator could kick on before everything shuts off so our backup power would be comparable to having a generator running non-stop (uninterrupted power).
I have detailed logs of the original settings, but I don't know which settings would be helpful.