Grid tie in micro inverter WVC1200 220V wiring instructions

Options
JeanLafete
JeanLafete Registered Users Posts: 4
Grid tie in micro inverter WVC1200 220v.  Newbie here working with a WVC1200 220v micro inverter. More I read the directions the more confused I got. When I ordered this I figured that one line to one line and the other line to the other leg, but not sure? This has three wires, L-line, N-neutral, and G-ground. Getting down into the fine print of the directions it shows AC output 220VAC: 180V-262V, 50HZ. The instructions are quite generic as it covers both 120V/220V inverters. Not sure if this would synchronize to 60HZ?  Anyone with suggestions and/or advice?
Thank-you

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Welcome to the Forum JeanLafete,

I am guessing you are in the USA (Texas?).

Do you have a link to the product and manual you can post here? Examples:

https://www.inverter.com/1200-watt-solar-micro-inverter
    http://www.powerelek.com/grid-tie-power-inverters/131-wv-230-250-.html

It appears there are two versions of these GT Inverters... A 120 VAC nominal and a 240 VAC nominal... And I have seen websites that list the inverters at 50/60 HZ, and others that listed 120 VAC @ 60 Hz and 230 VAC @ 50 Hz.

Without knowing your exact product--Cannot give you exact answers.

For 120 VAC North American circuits, we have L1 (Hot) and L2 (Hot) and Neutral... With L1-L2 = 240 VAC, and L1-N = 120 VAC, and L2-N = 120 VAC. And N-Ground should be "near" zero volts.

For 240 VAC circuits, L1-L2 = 240 VAC... Some GT Inverters that are designed for 240 VAC have L1/L2/G connections, and others ahve L1/L2/N/G connections. The N does not carry any (useful) current... But the N-G connection is used to ensure that everything is connected correctly (Neutral-Ground bond, no floating Neutrals, etc.). If N-G voltage is >> zero volts, then the inverter will fault.

-Bill