WSW panel orientation.

Options
littleharbor2
littleharbor2 Solar Expert Posts: 2,046 ✭✭✭✭✭
 So down here in Northern Baja there's thousands of off grid PV systems and new ones being installed all the time.
There's a Alternative energy operation down here that is installing new systems with SW to WSW orientations. When asked by a curious neighbor about this was told that "I have been doing this for 40 years now and I know what I'm doing" Apparently, after a friend of his said, he's basing this odd orientation on some reports the theory that, After I read said reports, GRID TIED systems benefit the grid by producing peak power in the afternoon when demand is highest. The only other reason I could think of to choose this westerly orientation would be if you have a persistent Marine Layer problem, which we don't have on the Sea of Cortez side of the peninsula.. We're not talking "Virtual Tracking" here. Just a single array
Off Grid PV systems store power in your battery bank which gets drawn on when the sun goes away, overnight and in the early am hours. Wouldn't it make sense, in this scenario that you would want to begin charging your battery bank sooner, rather than later in the day? How can you EVER take advantage of opportunity loading when you're still charging into the afternoon?
Just thought I'd throw this out there and get the thoughts of others on this subject.

2.1 Kw Suntech 175 mono, Classic 200, Trace SW 4024 ( 15 years old  but brand new out of sealed factory box Jan. 2015), Bogart Tri-metric,  460 Ah. 24 volt LiFePo4 battery bank. Plenty of Baja Sea of Cortez sunshine.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,447 admin
    Options
    For battery based systems... I would suggest that you need to harvest as much energy as possible... And need to look at other issues too, such as weather (afternoon marine layer, morning fog, and ambient temperatures--High Temperatures -> lower Vmp-array -> lower energy harvest P=V*I).