Solar Charging a PHEV for a Beginner

Options
krieger82
krieger82 Registered Users Posts: 2
edited December 2021 in Solar Beginners Corner #1
Greetings all and thanks in advance for any input. I live in Germany and recently bought a PHEV. Here is my issue: We live in a row house and our garages are quite a distance detached. The builders in the 80's were not forward thinking enough to wire the garages with any power for some dumb reason. It is not possible to run a cable to them. This leaves only the option of using solar to charge the vehicle at home. While I have some experience with standard electrical systems, solar and DC systems are alien to me. I am looking at buying a single 350w panel just to at least partially charge the vehicle. The research I have done here seems to indicate that I must use a voltage regulator couple with a battery and inverter. I would like to avoid using a battery if possible since it rather defeats the purpose and increases costs to the point of making the project economically moot. Is there anyway to avoid this? I do not need or want to store power and do not care if the charge is variable since I am not running appliances or anything overnight. I just want to charge the car while the sun is out. It came with 230v standard German cable with an inline inverter for charging from a socket. Is it possible to just hook a solar panel to an inverter and straight to the vehicle? Thanks again!
Here are the specs of the panel I am looking at (translating as best I can):
345w max output
Max Voltage output: 35 volts
Max Power: 10 amps
Open Circuit Voltage: 42.25 volts
Short Circuit Current: 10.5 amps
the car has a 13.2 kWh battery and the cable is a standard type 2 electric charging cable designed to work with our standard sockets here (230v 50hz)

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,440 admin
    Options
    Welcome to the forum krieger82,

I can only give you some generic answers based on what you have typed...