Is this as good as it gets?

kamchuka
kamchuka Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭
I'm relatively new to this and have been adding to my system for a couple years. I recently added three panels and just looking to see if this is an acceptable set up and what you might change. I will go 48v when the Magnum takes a dump but... It still going sooo. I don't trust the readings I'm getting from the charge controllers but I wrote them down. Thank you!
900 watts pv (building on) on poles, off grid 60a mppt, magnum 2k 12v msw, 1400 ah forklift battery (rewired to 12v), 8k diesel gen for house. honda eu6500, 2x 8D, coleman 800w inv for shop, honda 5k for well (pumps to 1000g cistern), ryobi 2k suitcase for mobile ops. 

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,422 admin
    OK... To know more about how each controller's performance... For example, the 4x75 Watt panels + MPPT controller... At noon, on a cool/clear day, battery bank under 80% SoC (needing to be charged), and/or running loads on the DC bus/AC inverter (use a 1,500 Watt room heater, if you want to "load the system").

To look at the math. Note, I am using approximate values for a warm climate, near solar noon, on a cool/clear day (77% derating of Vmp/Charge controller output). You plug in your actual measured numbers to confirm:
    • 4 * 75 Watt panels = 300 Watts Pmp-std (marketing number)
    • Vmp ~ 17.5 volts Vmp-std (typical)
    • 4 * 17.5 Volts =70 Volts Vmp-array (full load/cool clear day)
    • 70 Volts * 0.81 temperature derating * (hot/sunny day) = 56.7 Volts Vmp-array-Really Hot Day
    • 75 Watts / 17.5 volts = 4.29 Amps Imp-std (since all panels in series, Imp-array-std = 4.29 Amps)
    Ok, assuming battery bank need charging (at or below 14.75 volts)... Lets say 13.6 volts (discharged, or running 1,500 Watt heater as dummy load on system and battery at float voltage).