AC coupling SMA-Schneider

Options
Tropical_Installer
Tropical_Installer Registered Users Posts: 11 ✭✭

Hello everyone,

I consult this forum regularly but it is the first time I’m writing a post.

I am a solar installer in Haiti. I am designing a 20kW PV system and would like to hear your opinion.

It is for a vocational school that will only work on the day from 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM.

The system includes:

- 72 solar panels 320W, Yingly

- 24 Trojan L16RE-2V batteries (2V, 1100Ah)

- 3 inverter Conext XW+6848 (three-phase current). They have three-phase equipment

- There is a backup generator too.

Solar conditions here in Haiti is + 300 days of sunshine/year

The maximum possible load is 16kW, if all the appliances are running at the same time! I don’t think this will happen.

At the beginning I thought using 4 charge controller Schneider MPPT 600-80 but I realized that the charging current would be much too high: 320A. The maximum charging current allowed by Trojan is 143A (13% of C20 capacity)!

So, I thought about an AC coupling system. I can use 3 Sunny Boy 7000 instead of the DC charge controller.

Sunny Boy # 1 L1 L2

Sunny Boy # 2 L1 L3

Sunny Boy # 3 L2 L3

I know that the XW + have the "frequency shift" function which will “disconnect” the Sunny Boys when the batteries are charged. So, I won’t have the over-current charging problem anymore. I have never used this function in the XW+

I have never done the SMA - Schneider coupling. I really don’t know if it will work.

What do you think?

JR

Comments

• mcgivor
    mcgivor Solar Expert Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited March 2019 #2
    Options

The question is why not use Schneider CL series string inverter which are available in 3 phase https://solar.schneider-electric.com/products/three-phase-string-inverters-commercial-and-residential-grid-tie-inverters/ these would work with the XW, documents available from Schneider, unless of course you already have the SMA equipment.