Learning to identify end of life for Lead acid batteries.

ShenanigenZ
ShenanigenZ Registered Users, Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1

I am kind of new to how to test batteries and am coming along issues with pre-existing system. What we have is six 4v batteries for a 24v system. These batteries have a history of heavy use and have been discharged fully which I know is a problem. So when I measure across each battery I am getting 4v and seeing 24v when they are all connected. The specific gravity is good with each cell being around 1.25. I feel like my meter is rounding the actual voltage because when I turn it on the inverter does register it around 25v. The problem is once you place the bank under load it does well but then dies quickly and certain cells will register 0v. The inverter never registers full charge just constant float charging.

My question is are these batteries toast? I get confused because with the voltage being good and the specific gravity being good I just thought the battery should be good. We have tried an equalization charge but that hasn't helped. I am kind of new to batteries so and information would be awesome.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

Welcome to the forum SZ.

First answer is your batteries are probably toast. Especially if they are over a few years old. (all in my humble opinion).

You really need to be measuring/logging voltages in the XX.YY accuracy. 24 volts is not accurate enough to understand what may be happening to your batteries.

More or less:

• 21.0 volts is dead (on a 24 volt FLA battery bank)
    • 23.0 volts is roughly 50% discharged when measured under moderate loads (roughly 5% to 20% rate of discharge)
    • 24.0 volts is very rough 50% discharged (after setting for 3+ hours at ~75F/25C and measuring the resting voltage
    • 25.4 volts resting is ~100% state of charge for a Flooded Cell Lead Acid battery bank).