grounding in van pv system

gbschreiber
gbschreiber Registered Users Posts: 2
Hi all, I have a b-class van to which I am adding a 200w pv system. The system includes two-100w panels, a bluesky 3000i charge controller, 300w pure sine inverter and a vmaxtank battery. Shore power is completely isolated from the pv system. My question is what needs to be grounded? I have a good chasis ground lead. Should I ground the inverter only? Should I ground the battery only? Should I ground both(would that result in a ground loop)? I am only a beginner so I apologize if this is a simple question. I've had trouble finding a suitable answer elsewhere. Thanks in advance for your thoughts!

George

Comments

• dwh
    dwh Solar Expert Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭
    There are two sorts of grounding. One could be called "the working ground" and the other could be called "the equipment ground". Basically, the working ground is required for the stuff to work, whereas the equipment ground is for safety in case something shorts out in the equipment and electrifies the case/chassis of the equipment.

For DC, you have the positive and negative and very rarely also have a chassis ground for safety. (In DC, the equipment ground is commonly already connected to the negative inside the equipment, so no extra safety ground is needed.) The negative is also often called ground. It shouldn't be called that, since it doesn't connect to the planet, but people call it that anyway.

So for the solar, there will be a positive and negative from the PV module(s) to the charge controller, and a positive and negative from the charge controller to the battery. Looking at the manual for the Bluesky 3000i, I don't see any connection for an equipment grounding conductor, so just positive/negative from PV and same to battery. Done deal easy peasy.