Solar system design questions

vdub411
vdub411 Registered Users Posts: 3
New to the solar world and have some questions.  I've been collecting bits and pieces for many years and finally have enough to do something with.  Thus far I have collected the following:
4x250w 24v Renogy Solar panels
Renogy Commander 40A MPPT Charge controller
26 x 115ah AGM batteries
and tons of UL PV wire, MC4 connectors, usage monitors, bus bars and almost unlimited amounts of any gauge wire.

A little background on myself and my project.  I've been in the Telecommunications industry for nearly 20yrs and tend to keep things headed to the dumpster.  I purchased a property next to my current one with a house and detached 2 car garage (was a shop for restoring corvettes).  The house was tore down and everything disconnected at the road but the garage remains.  I would like to make the garage a "In-Law retreat" for when visitors come to stay and a place to work on extra toys.  

Now for my dilemma.  So far nothing is hooked up.  I'm wanting to tie into the existing panel so all outlets work as if they were tied to the gird.  I'm not sure on my energy consumption as I have not had power out there but would like to keep it somewhat basic.  It's heated with wood.  The 4ft florescent lights have LED replacements waiting.  No stove and the fridge is from an RV so 110, 12v or propane.  

The inverters I've looked at are split phase 24v 240 by Samlex, GoPower and Aims.  I'm wanting to start out with 2000w and go from there.  Is that a good starting point?  I won't be running any 220 stuff to start off but would like to do so in the future.  Should I go 48v?  Is it possible to tie the solar panels in series and accomplish this?  

This is just my experiment until I can figure everything out, then I will expand as necessary.  Any input would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Welcome ot the forum Vdub411.