battery charging in cold climates

Options
bobber
bobber Registered Users Posts: 5 ✭✭
I'm new to this so bare with me. I have a small cabin off the grid in U.P. of Michigan. I have been using a Honda 2000 generator 2 deep cycle batterys and a 800 watt inverter to run a few lights, T.V. and and a RV water pump system. I am thinking about a solar system to reduce the generator noise and gas usage. The cabin is small so the battery's and inverter are in a shed that is not heated.I have read that using Solar panels and charge controller in cold climates can cause overcharge problems and that the battery's and equipment should be in heated building. Any thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Comments

• vtmaps
    vtmaps Solar Expert Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Welcome to the forum,

You need a charger that has a battery temperature sensor.  It will raise the charging voltage to compensate for low temperatures.  You need an inverter that can handle the higher voltages (you might be up to 16 volts while charging).

The batteries won't freeze as long as they are not discharged too far.  The batteries should be in an insulated box and they will keep themselves 10-20° above ambient. 

The batteries will have lower capacity and greater voltage sag under load when they are cold.  As long as you design your system with that in mind, it's not a problem.

There are some marine rated controllers that might be suitable for an unconditioned environment.  

When designing a system we start with the loads... you have not specified a number of kilowatthours per day.  In some systems we start with the batteries and figure out how much load they can handle and how much solar array and controller they need.

What sort of batteries do you have?  Do you have a clear area near the cabin?

--vtMaps
    4 X 235watt Samsung, Midnite ePanel, Outback VFX3524 FM60 & mate, 4 Interstate L16, trimetric, Honda eu2000i
  • bobber
    Options
    bobber said: