Need help setting up first solar system to power chest freezer

Options
MauiSun
MauiSun Registered Users Posts: 7 ✭✭
Hello,
I am new to solar, and I am putting together a small system to power an 8 cubic feet chest freezer.
So far I have:
45a MPPT tristar morningstar charge controller
Two 6v interstate L16s (380ah)
Xantrex or Samlex 2000W pure sine wave inverter (any suggestion/reccomendations of one over the other?)
29 260W multicrystalline 60 cell panels

Yes, you read that correctly, 29 panels....
My father works for Trina solar and I got an amazing deal at $0.60/W that we couldn't pass up.
We are planning to design and build a 6kW offgrid system soon, but for now I am just getting my toes wet and trying to get this freezer going.

We don't have a freezer yet, but probably getting a Danby 8 or 11 cu. Ft. chest freezer, that I'll later be converting to a fridge. But for now, I would like to set up a system powerful enough to run at full capacity as a freezer.

The freezer consumes approximately 220kWh/year, or 610Wh/day.

My questions are:
1.how many of these panels will safely work with this charge controller? The panels run at 8a, charge controller 45a. Does that mean I can have 5 panels running off it? It says it rated at 600W @12v and 1200W at 24v max, so I looks like I can only have two panels max on my 12v system. Does that mean I'd be better off with a 24v battery bank that way I could use more panels (up to 5?)......a little confused here. I'd like to go with the most panels possible obviously.

2. Is my battery bank large enough?

3. Will this system work off a 12V battery bank? or will the fridge power surge be too much?

4. what size wires and cables should I be using with this setup?

After a bunch of research I feel like buying two more L16s and bumping the battery bank up to 24v is the best way to go. Am I wrong?

Thanks for any help or input!

Comments

• lkruper
    lkruper Solar Expert Posts: 115 ✭✭
    Options
    MauiSun wrote: »
    Hello,