Off Grid solar irrigation controller for community park

Options
Jose263
Jose263 Registered Users Posts: 6 ✭✭
Hi - I joined last night - I volunteer at a community park doing gardening education. We have city water but no power available. Need to install an irrigation controller- prefer.using solar power.- looking for advice/guidance. HELP
We are non profit so least expensive is the plan. We want to install an 8-10 station controller (is there such an animal compatible with solar panels. we hope use Rainbird/orbit items from HD or Lowes - the valves require 24vac.
I am a newb and don't know what to ask. We want to establish solar power (plenty of sun available - need to power a small irrigation controller probably 120vac -.we do not need to run a water pump- It would also be nice to have a 120vac outlet available on site. .
Looking for advice.
TJ

Comments

• solarix
    solarix Solar Expert Posts: 713 ✭✭
    Options
    You need a small off-grid AC solar system. Xantrex makes one called "PowerHub" that is probably bigger than needed, but is a nice package. Could also just go with simple PWM charge controller feeding a single battery driving a small 200 - 400W inverter like you can get from any truckstop. You will need AC for sure because of the 24Vac irrigation valves. Irrigation Timers are also all AC.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,447 admin
    Options
    TJ, welcome to the forum.

Yes, there are a fair number of solutions for off grid irrigation controllers... They range from something like this that run son 1x 9 volt radio battery:

http://www.rainbird.com/landscape/products/controllers/TBOScontroller.htm

To native solar powered models like these:

http://www.dripirrigation.com/drip_irrigation_categories/59
    http://www.hunterindustries.com/irrigation-product/controllers/xc-hybrid