Battery Backup or not??

Options
vidhan
vidhan Registered Users Posts: 14
Aloha All!

This is my first post, so please excuse me if it's not in the right forum.

I'm a building contractor in Hawaii. As part of a large addition and renovation, we (my crew and my electrician) will be installing a grid-tied system in a home where the current electrical usage has averaged 51KW/day. The owners would like to offset part of this with PV. They don't like the idea that they would be without power if the grid went down, and so someone suggested to them a system with battery back-up that would use 64 SolarWorld SW175 modules and 24 Discovere AGM 6v 390 amp-hour batteries.

I am wondering if the battery back-up makes sense from a practical standpoint. It seems to me that, with the inefficiencies involved in the battery back-up and the additional costs for batteries, charge-controller etc., they would be better off installing a propane-driven generator for the few times when the power would be out.

Any comments on this??

Also, does anyone out there know, given their current usage figures, how long those batteries might provide power for? I am thinking that we might need a generator anyway just to keep the batteries from being too deeply discharged!

Thanks for reading this.

Comments

• Windsun
    Windsun Solar Expert Posts: 1,164 ✭✭
    Options
    Re: Battery Backup or not??

In a really practical sense, battery backup for such systems is usually a poor choice, unless they are losoing grid power quite often and have critical systems they have to keep powered up.

The size of the battery system you are talking about would provide about 10-15 hours backup power at most, and would add several thousand dollars to the cost. And they would have to be replaced in 6-8 years.
  • niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Options