Solar Setup just for my Tablet

joeysolar
joeysolar Registered Users Posts: 1
Hi All,

I'm new to solar panels (will buy soon) and looking for a good setup that can keep my work tablet (Surface PRO) powered for a few days on one battery bank. I'm thinking of having two battery banks so that the other bank discharges while the other recharges. I don't know if that's a good assumption in having a good solar panel setup.

Anyways, on a regular basis, I work 8-10 hours a day and between that time I charge and discharge my Surface PRO. I start charging the Surface when it hits low at 10% and discharging it when it reached 90%.

Surface PRO requires 44W to run and charges with 12v at 3.6amps. And I don't know what controller and inverter I need. Will a 100w panel (mono) with (2)x100amp deep cycle battery sufficient enough for one battery bank setup or is it too much just to run a tablet? (maybe I'll need to add LED lights, 12v fan in the future...)

By the way, I live near the equator that has around 7-8 hours of sunny time. ;)

I highly recommend your thoughts.

-Joey

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Solar Setup just for my Tablet

Welcome to the forum Joey!

First, I would suggest finding a Kill-a-Watt type power meter. Accurately measuring your daily power usage is better than estimating. Also, if you have a network, printer, etc. you need to run, you should check that too. But, using the numbers you have provided, we can start.

Assuming this is a full off grid system (as opposed to an emergency backup system for unreliable power), a quick set of calculations using nominal rules of thumbs would look like (2 days of no-sun storage and 50% maximum discharge for longer battery life):
    • 44 watts * 10 hours per day * 1/0.85 AC inverter eff * 1/12 volt system * 2 days of backup power * 1/0.50 max discharge = 173 AH @ 12 volt battery bank
    A pair of 6 volt @ 220 AH golf cart batteries would work very nice for this.