So confused! New to solar but need power at the barn.

MDKirksey
MDKirksey Registered Users Posts: 13
I am new to solar but got the chance to by 4-250watt panels from a going out of business sale. They are Sharp ND-Q250F7BX panels. Attachment not found. I also have 2 MPPT 30 amp controllers and 150 ft of 10 gauge wire. 20-12v batteries all the same type and amp Hours with pretty much the same amount of use from each. I want to attach two panels parallel to each controller and run both controllers to the same parallel battery bank. Then off of that run an invertor. I have been told I also need a Busbar? and a capacitor between the batteries and inventor to use a vacuum or other small electrical devices due to the sudden large draw from some devices. Just wondering if there is anything I need to do differently. Or what I could do differently to make this work better. Or if I am even going in the right direction! Help please.

A couple of other questions? The 30 amp MPPT charge control be able to handle 2 - 250 (Pmax)watt panels, 8.9a Isc, 38.3v Voc, 29.8V pmax, 8.4a Ipmax. Not sure about that. (I have one panel hooked up with a 20amp inline fuse to one deep cycle batteries and it works fine)

I understand you can hook up both controllers to one battery bank but do I need to do that a certain way?

Just getting confused. Help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advanced. MDK

Comments

• AuricTech
    AuricTech Solar Expert Posts: 140 ✭✭
    Re: So confused! New to solar but need power at the barn.

What will your battery bank's nominal Voltage be, and how many parallel battery strings do you expect to have?
  • MDKirksey

I am trying to stay with a 12v system and I would put all 20 batteries into the bank if possible or I could make two banks of 10 each I guess.
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭

Okay the capacitor between the batteries and inverter is useless. Remove it.