Outback 80

Options
Chris11
Chris11 Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭
I'd like your help please.....

I bought 10 panels from Costco, 12 volts @ 100 watts each. They have a Voc of 21.9 volt each. My plans were to connect them in 5 strings of 24 volts each string. Tonight I was going to order an Outback Flex 80 and read that it can "only" handle 150 volts. Since I'd have 21.9 Voc from each panel that tells me that the Outback won't be able to handle 10 panels. Is this correct? Seems wrong to me for such an expensive controller but I'm fairly new at this so don't know if it's my interpretation or something else.

Thanks for all replies.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,457 admin
    Options
    Re: Outback 80

I think you have it confused...

Yes, two panels in series adds voltage (Vmp-array = 2* Vmp-panel = 2 * 18 volts = ~36 Volts Vmp for the array).

And when you put the strings in parallel, the current will add.

Guessing:
    • 100 Watts / 18 volts Vmp = ~5.5 amps per panel
    • 5 parallel strings * 5.56 amps = 27.8 amps total for the array @ ~36 volts Vmp
    Now--The FM-80 can take around 140-150 Volts input from the array. For most places that works out to a Vmp-array of ~100 VDC maximum (due to temperatures and Voc maximum).
    • 100 volts / 18 volts = 5.55 panels = ~5 panels in series maximum
    So, you could also do an array with 5 panels in series and 2 parallel strings. (Vmp-array~90 volts; Imp-array~11.12 amps).

Now, what battery bank voltage are you looking at? For an FM-80, roughly the maximum array wattage recommended would be:
    • 80 amps * 14.5 volts charging * 1/0.77 panel+array derating = 1,506 Watt array "cost effective" maximum @ 12 volt bank
    • 80 amps * 29.0 volts charging * 1/0.77 panel+array derating = 3,013 Watt array "cost effective" maximum @ 24 volt bank
    • 80 amps * 58.0 volts charging * 1/0.77 panel+array derating = 6,026 Watt array "cost effective" maximum @ 48 volt bank