Draw from varied points in battery bank

Options
Chris11
Chris11 Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭
I'm relatively new to solar but slowly I'm getting there.

Recently I read some guy saying he wasn't able to draw all the power he needed for his 4000 amp inverter from his 8 battery bank he had so he drew some power from different points in his bank. Sorry if this isn't clear.....I assumed he meant he couldn't just use the "final" positive and negative leads producing 24 volts, so tapped into different batteries in the bank.

Is this a normal way of doing it to higher capacity inverters?

Thanks, Chris

Comments

• vtmaps
    vtmaps Solar Expert Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Draw from varied points in battery bank
    Chris11 wrote: »
    Sorry if this isn't clear.....

It's not clear at all. He has a 24 volt system with 8 batteries. If he has 6 volt batteries, he has two strings in parallel, each string being 4 batteries in series. If he has 12 volt batteries, he has 4 strings in parallel, each string being 2 batteries in series.

Either way, I don't understand what you're trying to describe.

--vtMaps
    4 X 235watt Samsung, Midnite ePanel, Outback VFX3524 FM60 & mate, 4 Interstate L16, trimetric, Honda eu2000i
  • Mountain Don
    Mountain Don Solar Expert Posts: 494 ✭✭✭
    Options

Details needed.... as vtmaps stated. Also what is the voltage input on the inverter being used? 12? 24? ???
    Northern NM, 624 watts PV, The Kid CC, GC-2 batteries @ 24 VDC, Outback VFX3524M
  • Chris11
    Chris11 Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭
    Options

I spent an hour trying to find where I'd read about that....no go.

The gist of it was that he said he couldn't use all available amps from the battery bank via the normal single positive and single negative leads so he tapped into other spots in the bank, then fed all the wires to the inverter.

Thanks anyway.

Chris
  • inetdog
    inetdog Solar Expert Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭✭
    Options