2kw Inverter and Setup Suggestions for Small RV System - beginner question.

Options
ScoCan
ScoCan Registered Users Posts: 11
Putting the pieces together for a small solar system on our small (24 foot) rv.

Currently looking at 450 Watts of solar powering a Midnite Solar Kid and using 2 Interstate GC2-XHD-UTL 6V Deep Cycle Golf Cart Batteries in series.

-- May expand the array, batteries, and Kid's later.

The stock converter/charger in the RV is non adjustable and does not provide a proper charge profile/voltages.

The goal (one of several) is to find a good Inverter/Charger match for our system. I am looking for an approx 2000 Watt inverter/charger that has a programmable battery charge profile, data out, and remote. I believe the Magnum MS2000 fits the bill nicely, but I have no personal experience with them.

Anyone have any suggestions or experiences with the Magnum or other like devices? Feel free to give general suggestions - I'd prefer to hear them before I start connecting wires.

The battery specs:
Interstate GC2-XHD-UTL 6 v Deep Cycle Golf Cart Batteries
CAP-20: 232.00
ReserveCapacity-25: 474.00
Charge Profile (as a 2 battery system):
Bulk: 14.46
Absorption: 15.3
Float: 13.4
Equalize: 15.6
Data Sheet

Thanks!

Comments

• Blackcherry04
    Blackcherry04 Solar Expert Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: 2kw Inverter and Setup Suggestions for Small RV System - beginner question.

I have no clue what you intend to run on the Inverter or if you use a generator to charge and run the appliances in the RV. Xantrex makes the SW2012 ( $1,200 ) Inverter / Charger gives you " Generator Support " that is nice to have on a small generator, it will allow the Inverter to kick in the needed power and run in tandem with the generator on large loads. It requires a SCP Remote ( $200 ) and a AGS ($150 ) gen start be present on the system to use.

http://www.boatersland.com/xan815-2012.html?gclid=CI3ok9nAx8ACFVQV7AodM3wAMQ
  • Chris
    Chris Solar Expert Posts: 135 ✭✭