Hydro/Solar Power CombinedSet Up

Cathalsiew
Cathalsiew Registered Users Posts: 13
Hi There,

I am new to this game, and I was wondering if anyone can help me with some of the following:

1. I am designing a micro hydro scheme( I am a civil engineer so the hydraulics etc is no problem for me, just the electrical side of things is a bit tougher):blush: which will need to run concurrently with a PV solar system. Can I get suitable advice here(its more in relation to the electrical and battery side of things than the hydro itself)?

If the answer is yes, I have the following details about the scheme I wish to set up.

2. The turbine will produce 500 Watts or 0.5kw per hour. It will be a 24 hour operation; therefore producing 12kWh per day.

3. The peak demand from the house is going to be 4.61kW; and the overall use for a full day will be 44.5kw (which allows for 50% effeciency losses). Knowing this I am going to have to supplement my hydro supply with a PV installation.

Can anyone give me advise on how to run the two systems together?

4.I want to have a couple of days redundancy in my design, so based on a 2 day storage, I need the batteries that can hold 1890ampH's. The voltage of the hydro system will be 48V to reduce losses from the turbine to the battery bank. therefore the current from the turbine will be 13.4 Amp.

So really where i am at, is seeing if this type of design is

a) Feasible(See attached spreadsheet for loadings)
Attachment not found.
b) The size an type of batteries I need(is this possible) Thinking of 4 12V 500ampH strings running in series/parallel.
c) What controllers/chargers are needed for the combined solar and hydro systems

Any other general points or hints would be appreciated

Comments

• stephendv
    stephendv Solar Expert Posts: 1,571 ✭✭
    Re: Hydro/Solar Power CombinedSet Up