Very New - Suggested Reading and Battery Question

Options
draines
draines Registered Users Posts: 17
Hello-

I am very new to the solar world and trying to wrap my head around what I am getting in to. Can anyone suggest a good, legitimate, starting book to read? I have some electronic background but would call it novice at best, especially as it relates to solar and battery storage principles.

I have a very basic starter system to see how things work and test out my long-term interest before making any major investments. Currently I have:
•1x Renogy 50 Watt Solar Panel
•10 Amp PWM Charge Controller
•2 20' extension solar PV cables AWG 12
•Whistler Pro-2000W 2,000 Watt Power Inverter
•Powersonic PS-12350NB - 12 Volt/35 Amp Hour Sealed Lead Acid Battery

I will be setting this up to run some small appliances and maybe as a camping accessory while I learn.

Now the battery questions...while running my AC 'device' through my inverter while my panel is charging my battery, how does the power transfer happen?
Mainly, lets assume I am running a 40W/hr device while receiving 50W/hr of power from my panel, and 10W/hr loss through inverter. What is going on with my battery? Do I consider this usage from the battery? Or is this simply a wash in my daily calculations? I think it is a simple rookie quetion, but maybe I'm oversimplifying?

Told you I was new....Thanks in advance for any input and advice on where to start!

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Re: Very New - Suggested Reading and Battery Question

Welcome to the forum Draines.
    draines wrote: »
    I am very new to the solar world and trying to wrap my head around what I am getting in to. Can anyone suggest a good, legitimate, starting book to read? I have some electronic background but would call it novice at best, especially as it relates to solar and battery storage principles.