Grid tie system

punkinsrock
punkinsrock Registered Users Posts: 1
Hello all, I am a noob here and to solar and wind power as well. I am sure the question has been brought up before but with over 100 pages of posts I am just going to ask. If I do a grid tie system how do I save money on my electric bill? Does my meter run slower if I am supplying power to my grid? And what if I am able to supply more power than I use? I am currently deployed to the middle east and when I get home I want to start experimenting with solar energy. Thanks for looking, Jeff

Comments

• bill von novak
    bill von novak Solar Expert Posts: 891 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Grid tie system
    Hello all, I am a noob here and to solar and wind power as well. I am sure the question has been brought up before but with over 100 pages of posts I am just going to ask. If I do a grid tie system how do I save money on my electric bill? Does my meter run slower if I am supplying power to my grid? And what if I am able to supply more power than I use? I am currently deployed to the middle east and when I get home I want to start experimenting with solar energy. Thanks for looking, Jeff

In places with net metering, every kilowatt-hour you generate is a kilowatt-hour you don't have to pay for. If you supply more power than you use it is "banked" against your bill. In our area there is one settle-up a year, where you pay for any net energy you used. Yes, your meter will run slower (or backwards) when you are generating.
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭

Welcome to the forum Jeff.

A grid-tie system supplies power for your household loads from a PV array. It may reduce the amount of power you purchase from the utility, or eliminate it, or even sell surplus power back to the grid. It all depends on how much power you use, how large a system you install, and what the weather is like.