DG Net Metering

Options
Tom B
Tom B Registered Users Posts: 3
I am a utility engineer in the northeastern US and we have seen a significant increase in the number of net metered pv applications in the last five years (due to subsidies, decreasing installation costs, etc...). Since the penetration of PV on our system is still relatively low <1% we are still encouraging (subsidizing) installations on our system. I believe the trend will continue as long as subsidies remain and installation costs continue to decrease. Since Arizona is ahead of the curve in adoption of PV I had a few questions for the forum.

Are the utilities in Arizona still supportive of PV installations or have the subsidies been reduced or eliminated due to the high penetration of PV?

Is the rate of new installations still on the rise or did it plateau?

Is net metering permitted by the local utility? if so, has there been significant pushback by the utility to continue the practice?

Thank you for your comments

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: DG Net Metering

Welcome to the forum Tom.

This thread may answer some of your questions: http://forum.solar-electric.com/showthread.php?20522-Arizona-to-tax-sunshine
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options

We are starting to see push back from the utilities in many regions--Particularly those that have heavy subsidies were we are getting more installations (even up in Ontario Canada).

So far, the present "best method" to equalize the business risk for the utility and other customers is to break the bill into two charges... A flat rate connection charge and a per kWH charge.

The flat rate charge for my area (Northern California Metro area) is around $4.50 per month with relatively high per kWH costs (0.09 to upwards of $0.50 per kWH for higher usages on summer afternoons).