Battery recommendations needed

Bill Watson
Bill Watson Registered Users Posts: 4
I'm pretty scared of getting shocked so I've always steered clear of electrical work.
I'm an old carpenter and I'm used to risking my life working way up framing roofs but a little shock?......terrified. O well.

I finally decided to bite the bullet and get set up for emergency electric so I did some research and found the great stuff everybody says about Northern Arizona Wind & Sun. I shopped around and kept coming back here and just bought their RV/Van Kit With 140 Watt Module and MPPT kit and expect delivery this Monday.

I'm wondering if somebody can help me out with a little advise on battery selection.
My first thought was to run right out to Amazon and get a couple VMAXTANKS 155's for 600 bux and free shipping.
Now, I've crapped and fell back in it a few times in my life and before doing $600 worth of that again I figured I'd ask people who actually know this stuff what they thought.

I don't plan to light up France or anything but I'd need a small heater, a few lights, a small refrigerator and a few other similar items for myself and a couple other people.
I need to steer clear of fumes so I'd need sealed units and I've seen enough bad press on gel so those are out.

Thanks for any advise,
Bill

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Battery recommendations needed

Welcome to the forum Bill.

Gee, we've got so many bills around here it looks like Parliament (Congress)! :D

Are you telling me NAWS sells a kit with a single 140 Watt panel and MPPT charge controller? What do they expect people to do with that? TWO 140 Watt panels, yes, but one is only going to supply about 8 Amps at best.

Which brings us to the question of what are you going to be doing with it? Emergency back-up power is not very economical this way, and one small panel isn't going to charge much battery at all.